Off I go . . .

I know, I know, I’ve been slacking off here. But there’s been a lot going on, and there’s a lot coming up! Here’s a quick run-down — I’m literally about to run out the door for a 10-day trip to Turkey, so I guess the first thing I wanted to say is that I’ve got to take a little hiatus, but I’ll come back with some awesome pictures.

1. MY BIRTHDAY! I turned 23 Georgian style with a huge supra at my house, for which my host mom prepared an incredible amount of food and brought out a ton of her best homemade wine. I didn’t quite get it, but she and her helpers wouldn’t sit with us for the supra, so it was entirely English-speaking, which was, I suppose, I relief. I got to turn off the Russian-translating side of my brain for a while, which I don’t mind. But lemme tell you — that khachapuri was some of the best I’ve ever had, just like my host-mom promised. And she gave me a set of Georgian drinking horns as a gift, so I’ll be set supra-wise for the rest of my life! Thanks to all the TLGers who traveled from far and wide (and by that I mean from various places in Kakheti), and of course to my host mom for putting on such an amazing show.

2. Love’s Day was today. Like Georgian Valentine’s Day, I think. My 10th grade was, of course, not ready to give their Romeo and Juliet performance, although they did nearly get through a complete reading of the script this morning. Just a few more lines, guys.

3. TLG Excursion to Bolnisi and Dmanisi. Dmanisi, where they found the remains of the oldest hominid outside of Africa, would have been cooler if the museum we were trying to see had been open. It was rainy and cold all day, but we the bonding time was nice, as was the stop in the communist-era shop for some alcohol to warm us up. Hey, we really needed that warm-ish Kazbegi beer. At least the countryside was gorgeous once the clouds lifted.

Looks like we’re running out the door to catch the Gurjaani Love’s Day concert before the marshutka to Tbilisi, and then a 4:45am flight to Istanbul. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment